A Quantum Leap

I don’t really do computers, and I don’t understand them. I understand how a plant makes energy from sunlight, I understand phylogeny, I understand the internal combustion engine, I do not understand computing.

Guess what? They made it harder.

The first commercial quantum computer was sold to Lockheed Martin. I’ve been quite interested in the idea of quantum computing since I read about a year or so ago, and I only vaguely understand how they work, so I’ll leave it to the experts to explain. As far as I understand it, binary computers can either be 1 or 0, but quantum computers can exist in a variety of in between states, providing more complexity and therefore more data storage.

It’s not yet known whether it can outperform a normal computer, and I’d be interested to see how it fares. I doubt I’ll be buying one anytime soon though. If it works as well as I’m told it does though, it would be invaluable for systems biology. And gaming.

The only downside is that a lot of irritating quacks use the word quantum to peddle their bullshit science (see Deepak Chopra). When quantum computers get big, it’s going to get worse.

But hey, since everyone’s abusing the word ‘quantum’, I may as well jump on the bandwagon and include this video:

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

